Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Spirit Tape 666! (no, just 6...)

Spirit Tape 666 by Spirit Spine on Mixcloud

DOWNLOAD: http://www.mediafire.com/?uaplm0mcoc265gp

1. Surf Surround by The White Shark

2. Transmitting Live From Mars by De La Soul

3. Busy Signal by Dolly Parton

4. Blessa (Daytrotter Mix) by Toro Y Moi

5. All Apologies (MTV Unplugged) by Nirvana

6. Lay Lay Off, Faselam by Avey Tare & Kria Brekkan

7. Echo's Answer by Broadcast

8. Dawn Chorus by Boards of Canada

9. Silent Night by Metallic Falcons

10. Israeli Blue by The Index

11. Tremors by Kruxe

Finally! A new mixtape. I'm not really sure why this one took so long, but it's here so that's nice. I think this is the most cohesive mix I've made so far, but it may just be because I just finished it and like it more than the rest of them.

I really wish Dolly Parton had done more girl group style stuff like she does in Busy Signal. I added a little bit of reverb and echo to the Toro Y Moi song to make it blend a little bit better with the rest of the songs. Lay Lay Off, Faselam is a super sweet song that I'd like to try and cover sometime during a show. It's really cool how it's so sparse but carries the way it does. Broadcast is a group that I've been listening to for the past 3 months or so. I just bought their collaboration with the Focus Group and it sounds like the psychedlic 60's version of J Dilla's Donuts or Madvillainy the way there's a bunch of short songs that pretty much make up one big flowing album.

The third album is coming along slowly but surely. All of the instruments are recorded for all of the songs and the vocals are recorded for some. I'm mostly just mixing the album right now; getting levels right, adding and adjusting echo and reverb. There's one set of samples I want to add to one of the songs, but I need some of my vinyl records which are at my house so I'll have to get those sometime (in October?). I can tell you now that there will be 9 tracks and most of the songs will be kinda long (not like 10 minutes long, but more than 4 minutes). It should be all done by the time the 10th mixtape comes out.

If any labels want to inquire about releasing it, go ahead and send me an email (spiritspine@gmail.com). A limited vinyl release would be sweet (but probably costly).

No comments:

Post a Comment